FALL IN LOVE WITH WRITING


Love. Fall in love and stay in love. Write only what you love, and love what you write. The key word is love. You have to get up in the morning and write something you love, something to live for.

Ray Bradbury

I haven’t been feeling like writing in awhile. And I used to love writing.

As soon as I start writing, I get  anxious, bored or I don’t feel inspired enough finish!

Sometimes I wonder what my writing style  would have been like if I had been a teenager now, instead of in the 90s

Would I have been blogging, or use Tumblr?

Would I use a laptop or write with pen and paper. Oh, I miss writing with pen and paper!

I had binders filled with  little stories (what is now called One Shots)  and fanfiction. Notebooks filled with half stories and drabbles. I was always inspired by the people around me.

But I had a process:

  1. The binder had to be perfect. Something pretty to catch my teenage eyes.
  2. The pen had to be black. Not blue. I hated blue ink. A pencil was great too. Not mechanical pencils!
  3. Not medium point but the fine point. Or Gel ink. It had to flow easily, write easily.
  4. I had to have two or more of the same pen so that if the ink ran out I could replace it. But one extra for my pen collection

And I would always write about my crushes.

One of my favorite memories as a young writer, was when I was in junior high. My group of friends and I were always in the library, reading each others One Shots. My crush Blair had been spending a lot of time in there as well. God knows why.

He and his friend Pat would trade Hockey cards while “studying” but they were always in the next aisle.

My friends and I had just finished reading my One Shot of Blair out loud, it was very romantic and sexy. (for a 14-year-old) when there was sudden silence in the next aisle. My eyes grew wide in horror. I peeked through the stack of books, and there was Blair staring at me.

My friends started to giggle.

the bell rang, and I was leaving the library when Blair walked up behind me. “Interesting story, Becky” he announced.

Eek, even now my face turns so red, remembering that!

I always get so awkward when people read or mention my writing!

I think one of the best things in this world is enjoying, sharing and encouraging each others work. Which is why I am so happy and inspired when I read other people’s work! I am so happy I transferred to this blog from Windows Live ♥♥♥

One thought on “FALL IN LOVE WITH WRITING

  1. I started another blog for my writing…but, I haven’t done much on it with fictional words. It is good to write, scary as heck, but good. YOU are a freaking amazing writer. One feels what your words say.

    Like

♥writing was all I had, all I’ve ever had, the only currency, the only proof that I was alive. Memory.♥ each of us has a story to tell. Leave your thoughts. Leave your comments.

