SUPER AUNTIE


I convinced my niece I had super powers this afternoon by asking her if she wanted to see them.

“Sure” she was a skeptic of course. What 10 year old wouldnt be?

We were standing in the lobby of my apartment building, and she had noticed that the exit sign light had been fixed. It hadnt been. It just had stopped flickering when she had glanced at it.

“Watch the sign” I instructed.

She shift her gaze from me to the sign.  The light was flickering again.

I raised my arm, stretched out my hand to the light. Suddenly the light  stopped flickering. I held my hand for a good couple of minutes.When I lowered my arm, it flickered again.

Her eyes were wide. “No way!”

I started to grin. “Go ahead, try it.”

she did exactly what I did. Raised her arm, stretched her hand out to the light. It kept flickering. She was awestruck. She was also frustrated that my trick didnt work with her. “Auntie! How did you do that!” she demanded. She lowered her hand then tried again. I was laughing hysterically. “Show me your super power!”

I raised my hand, the light stopped flickering. When I moved my hand it continued to flicker.

“Auntie! Are you messing with me!” she cried. She stomped around me to see if I had rigged it somehow. “There is a ghost isnt there! Auntie!”

I didn’t tell her that it was just a coincidence that every time I raised my hand the light would be fine.

ah, the delights of being  a super auntie!

One thought on “SUPER AUNTIE

♥writing was all I had, all I’ve ever had, the only currency, the only proof that I was alive. Memory.♥ each of us has a story to tell. Leave your thoughts. Leave your comments.

