DREAM: being alone


I had a dream where I was very ill and doctors weren’t sure what was wrong with me. A friend decided to take me out for dinner at this little diner on the highway. Despite my protests. I didn’t want to be in public, I was miserable.

We walked into the diner. 

On one side all the people I used to be friends with, (through disloyalty and cattiness) sat there with people who didn’t like me and vice versa. On the other side taking up very little room were the people who did like me and vice versa. And in the middle aisle for some strange reason sitting with Emma and Jeff, was Chad and his girlfriend.

“Well this is interesting!” My friend exclaimed, enjoying my confusion. We sat with Van.

“Oh I thought you were sitting with Chad” Van teased me.

“Har Har” I replied sarcastically.

Dinner was served, I ate in silence. I was left by myself as Van and Her husband mingled. I rested my head on the booth partition. 

Out of the corner of my eye I saw someone sit down. I raised my head to find myself nose to nose with Chad.  I was so surprised I let out a shriek. “What are you doing?”

“What are you doing?” He echoed with that monkey faced expression of his.

“I am bored!” I snapped.

“I am bored”

It took me a moment to realize he was mocking me. I smiled. “Stop it”

“Stop it” he grinned.

“I can’t you’re awesome” I tried to see if he would fall for my mind trick.

“I can’t I’m awesome” he replied.

We burst out laughing.

I woke up, chagrined that Chad was in my dream.

Perhaps it’s a lesson for me to learn.

The people I enjoy in my life are out numbered by the people I no longer trust or care about. If I’m not careful I will be all alone.

3 thoughts on “DREAM: being alone

      1. piffle. You could NEVER creep me out. You very well might scare me if I came to your counter and ordered the wrong thing, but you would not creep me out!

        Like

♥writing was all I had, all I’ve ever had, the only currency, the only proof that I was alive. Memory.♥ each of us has a story to tell. Leave your thoughts. Leave your comments.

