EYES UP HERE


I had been covering for a break, working in First booth 😒😒 when the customer pulled up.

I smiled, greeted him cheerfully and asked if his order was correct.

He ignored me, continued checking his change.

I repeated myself. Louder. The customer finally looked up at me. I smiled. I asked if the order was correct, he looked away.

Every time I spoke, he would avoid making eye contact, would stare at his dashboard. 

I once more asked him if it was his order. “Im not listening to you because I cant read your lips!” He snapped. Still wouldn’t look at me!

Bitch say what?!


He just did not  imply I was being disrespectful to a hearing impaired person!

Years ago, I was chastised by a deaf person that I must always face them and maintain eye contact so they could read lips.

I found their chastising a learning experience and use it everyday!

I rely on lip reading when I take orders on windows I can’t hear anything over the noise around me.

I find it annoying when people refuse to face me or they are on their cellphones when I ask them questions.

I was literally stunned by his anger. I had made every attempt to  get his attention, and he made every attempt to avoid answering.

His English perfect, no wall there. I spoke loudly clearly so even over his diesel he could hear me, so there could be no reason for him to be mad. 

I glared at him “you couldn’t see my lips because you were busy staring at your dashboard!” I snapped. “Eyes up here not there” I gestured. 

He stared at me. 

“Have a nice day!” I smiled.

The next customer I had to double check their hamburgers. He was on his phone. 😡

“Hello” I greeted him with a smile. 

He was still talking away. Barely glanced at me. I tried again to get his attention. He looked at me, still talking on his phone.

“Hi” I chirped “is your order” 

He stared blankly at me, distracted by his caller.

Now I was pissed off. “Excuse I’m talking to you, do you mind” I gestured to his phone.

He takes the phone away from his ear. “Is your burger only cheese”

“Yes”

“Ok thank you”

“Wait” he interjected “there is going to be meat on my burger right?! Meat cheese bun?”

Oh my god there are freaking geniuses out there!!

13 thoughts on “EYES UP HERE

      1. Even though most people now stream music or podcasts, you could set up a whole of spectrum radio service so that when they enter your zone their care stereo plays your voice asking for their order and when they get it wrong, your voice tells them what an arsehole they are.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Or better yet, if they give you grief, press a button and bollards rise and left them by their chassis into the air while you do a wicked laugh.

        The technology is now available to scan and record their license plates so when repeat offenders return the electronic signs change with a message, “Hey arsehole, be nice to Becky and your order will be correct!”

        Like

      3. I had this evil plan where I would have a button by my till. Every time a customer had attitude, “hello” me before I ask for their order, or asked a stupid question when the answer was so obvious, I would press it.
        The button would be hooked up to an electrical charge in drive thru.
        Much like a taser or a shock collar.
        However the rubber in the tires keep the evil plan from fruition!
        I like your ideas.
        However aggressive measures must be taken 😂

        Liked by 2 people

      4. Eek that would be scary!
        Could you imagine a famous person coming through, has a snotty attitude and I ripped them to shreds 😮🤦‍♀️
        Or they are super sweet and I don’t recognize them?😢
        Oh now I will probably have nightmares about this thanks Gary!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Actually, five years ago when they were hiring Filipinos in the Philippines, my restaurant had the PR company take our picture. I didn’t know this of course 🤦‍♀️
        So when the first batch arrived to work, the guys kept giggling and pointing at me. I was so paranoid. Did I have something on my face?
        No, apparently my picture was popular in their area.😋
        Ok
        My god, that was embarrassing! I saw the picture eek!
        “No you were so cute like a dumpling!”

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Ha ha you were almost right. I had just woke up from a dream where a sexy Italian woman asked me to make her the perfect mocha? Really? Every time I tried I messed up, made a mess, someone took it and then she got impatient and left!😤

      Liked by 1 person

♥writing was all I had, all I’ve ever had, the only currency, the only proof that I was alive. Memory.♥ each of us has a story to tell. Leave your thoughts. Leave your comments.

